San Francisco Coastal Track (7 km)

San Francisco, California, United States of America (April 2017)

Given these Covid times, I am also going to populate my blog with some of my other favourite hikes and walks from around the world. Some of them may not be terribly detailed as they will test my memory. The first of these is a reflection to an amazing trip I took in San Francisco. I had travelled for work and arrived a few days prior so that I could really take in the city in the best way possible… by foot. And also to indulge in my other love – parkrun.

So after arriving on Friday morning, I felt the need to orient myself to the city. I was staying about 30mins walk from the Bay, so made my way down to the Ferry Building at the bottom of the Financial District. The Ferry Building was opened in 1898 and has a history in transportation, starting with trains until in the mid 1930s it became the ferry terminal. All new arrivals and departures would pass through the impressive two-story building with its arches and skylights. As many as 50,000 people commuted via ferry until the opening of the Bay Bridge and Golden Gate Bridges rendered ferry transportation as obsolete. What is here now has been extensively restored over four years and converted into a wonderful food market. It is very easy to lose hours wandering around inside the expansive halls and dining at the many restaurants. This was my first stop (before even starting) for a bit of lunch on the waterside.

Sated, I set my watch and started walking. The plan a seven-ish kilometre walk around the coast ending at the Golden Gate Bridge. Initially the walk is right on the water, but comes inland a little at times to navigate piers and buildings. The walk is super accessible to all as it is very flat and there are lots of shops and interesting sites along the way (not only amazing views of the coast). You can also take a dog with you on this walk (if you have one). The only drawback is the number of people that are on these paths. Being a Friday afternoon the Ferry Building area was packed with shoppers and business men and women, lunching and enjoying the sunshine. But who could blame them, on a stunning sunny day, why not get out and take in these views.

As you wind around to the Piers, the crowd changes, more tourists (as the boats to Alcatraz leave from here) and people out exercising, running, walking and roller blading. I continued hugging the coast as much as possible.

Ignore the 5km mark – I am not sure what happened here but it looks like I teleported out towards Alcatraz and back. Blue is basically flat with a little elevation at the Fort Mason Centre

I kept a pretty steady pace until I hit the Fort Mason Center for Arts and Culture. This place is super interesting and intriguing so I slowed my pace to check it out as I passed but without something on, you can just see the car parks – it is probably the only ‘hill’ you have as you go up the embankment that circles it. On the other side you walk along Marina Green with now a clear view to the Golden Gate Bridge.

I think I might have taken this photo the day following as I am a little closer than where my hike took me.

At the end of Marina Green I took this photo of the Bridge and decided to head back inland. The full walk was approximately 7-8km to this point. Don’t mind my map as I took myself somewhere in the direction of my Airbnb and then got distracted by a Mexican bar 🙂

Fish taco with a Corona! What better way to end off a very chilled out sight seeing walk.

7-8km Ferry Building – Marina Green – 2 hours

Leave a comment